MONTANA CORONERS' ASSOCIATION

ANNUAL MEETING

MAY 2, 2022

The Montana Coroners' Association Annual meeting was called to order by President Elect Andy LeBrun at the Billings Hotel and Convention Center on 5-2-22 at 7:00 P.M.

Roll Call:

Roll call was taken and members from the following counties were present: Cascade, Yellowstone, Missoula, Lewis & Clark, Gallatin, Flathead, Fergus, Carbon, Phillips, Ravalli, Roosevelt, Chouteau, Valley, Toole, Musselshell, Blaine, Madison, Rosebud, Deer Lodge, Teton, Sheridan, Sanders, Judith Basin, Glacier, Fallon, Sweetgrass, Carter, Broadwater, Wheatland. Prairie, Granite, Meagher, Liberty, Park, Garfield, Jefferson, and Petroleum.

Minutes:

Since the approved minutes from the 2021 Annual Meeting are on-line, they were not read.

TREASURER'S REPORT:

The checking account balance prior to the convention is \$25,225.00 and the Stanley Morgan Investment balance is \$42,865.30. Greg Kirkwood made a motion to approve the Treasurer's report and Trenton Harbaugh seconded the motion which was unanimously approved.

OLD BUSINESS:

Scholarships:

The scholarship was for students in District 1 and 7 applicants were received from this district in addition to 3 from other districts. The students chosen were Jazlyn Dalbey from Polson and Rylee Brackman from Hamilton. Dick Brown made a motion to accept these candidates. Scott VanDyken seconded the motion which carried unanimously.

By-Laws:

Jace Dicken reported Joan Farmer is retiring from being our recording secretary and the board would like to separate the office of Secretary-Treasurer. The Secretary would handle the minutes and the Treasurer would handle the finances. The board proposed to change the term years for Secretary and for Treasurer as they will be two separate offices. They would be 2-year terms and the expiration dates would be

staggered so they would not expire the same year. Michael Peters made a motion to approve this proposal and John Colby seconded the motion which unanimously carried.

Legislative Committee:

Jace explained the reason the Coroners' Association was founded was to have a legislative committee to keep track of bills impacting the coroners and working for new bills to assist the coroners. The new by-laws state the President has authority to appoint coroners to serve on the legislative committee. They do not need to be board members; anyone who is interested can volunteer to serve. Dr. Kurtzman stated the Medical Examiner will also play a part in helping with legislative issues. Jace encouraged any interested members to e-mail him.

Leo Dutton is a representative of the POST Council and he explained when issues are brought from MCA to POST they see if they can be changed through POST. If MCA has issues with legislation we need to check with POST. Sheriff Linder is President of MSPOA, which has a good lobby effort which works with 3 or 4 others.

NEW BUSINESS:

Jace stated we need a motion to pay the bills for the convention, website, Facebook, etc. He explained we run on a calendar year, not a fiscal year. When the convention is over our bills will be caught up. Dick Brown made a motion to pay the bills and Jessie Billquist-Jette seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved.

Convention site for 2023:

Kevin Wright made a motion that the Board research sites and choose the one that best fits our needs. Leo Dutton seconded the motion which carried unanimously.

Election of Officers:

Jace has been Secretary-Treasurer for 2 years and his term is expired. He has agreed to serve another term. Dick Brown made a motion to elect the Treasurer for a 2-year term and the secretary for a 1-year term and next year change the secretary to a 2-year term. Scott VanDyken seconded this motion which unanimously carried.

The officers are as follows:

Past President: Wynn Meehan

President: Andy LeBrun

Vice President: Jessie Billquist-Jette

Secretary: Ty Hultman Treasurer: Jace Dicken

District 1: Steve Holton (term expires 2024)
District 2: Dan Whitted (term expires 2028)
District 3: Dick Brown (term expires 2023)
District 4: Sibley Jankoviak (term expires 2027)

District 5: Beker Cuelho (term expires 2025)

District 6: Trenton Harbaugh (term expires 2026).

Other:

Joan Farmer was honored for her 34 years of service to the Association.

John Colby made a motion to adjourn and Trenton Harbaugh seconded the motion which was unanimously approved. The meeting was adjourned at 7:25 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Joan Farmer, Recording Secretary